Our Lady of Victory Parish has had a rich history of serving the Lord in the Palisades community since 1909.
Our parish had a modest beginning in 1906, when weekly masses began to be held by Fr. Malachy F. Yingling in a home located just across the street from where Our Lady of Victory would later be built. Several dozen families attended masses at the nameless parish.
The following year, land was purchased where the church and school currently stand. A hall was built later in 1906 (where the Hess-Honda Auditorium is currently located) and in 1909, the church building was built and the church was officially named Our Lady of Victory.
As the population of Washington DC has grown and changed since the early 1900s, so has our parish. Our Lady of Victory Church has a rich history of serving the Palisades community for more than a century and continues to serve the residents of the Palisades today.
First 100 Years
For a history of our parish, please enjoy Parishioner, Russel Shaw's "A Most Pleasant and Healthful Place: Our Lady of Victory Parish at One Hundred." Due to upload size restrictions, the essay has been divided into three 4-page sections: